JACC Web Site Hacked and Back

At approximately 7 p.m. on Wednesday evening, I learned that the JACC web site was down, apparently having disappeared about 5 p.m.  The assumption by many was that it was “hacked” or attacked.  Since I have been the web master for that site for much of the past nine months, I was curious.  It appears that it wasn’t just the JACC site but the entire server it ran on.  When things began to come back online, the display seemed to indicate that the server was being rebuilt or everything was being moved to a new server.  Not sure what the reality was.

[NOTE:  As I re-read this post, I thought there was a lot of boring history in this piece, so I deleted it.  djt]

The JACC site is back up.  Beginning about 7 p.m. Thursday evening, I worked with a board member to pay for web hosting services with the same people who host my business’s web site and the 4PAC.org web site.  They’ve been fantastic for the 7-8 years I’ve worked with them.  So we gave them credit card information about 7 p.m.  I sent an e-mail to the customer support rep, Richard.  He responded within the hour suggesting that I send him the zipped backup of the site, and he could load the files, saving me the trouble to loading the site page by page from my web design program, where I also had a backup copy.  He also gave me the name server identification information and suggested that I go ahead and add that to the domain registration ASAP because that takes the longest in this process, usually 24-48 hours.  By 10 p.m., he wrote that the files were all loaded.  Today, the server location had been updated (taking not 24 hours but less than 12), and the site was up by 10 a.m.  Granted, it was a month old, but it was up.  I was amazed that this could have been done so quickly (less than 18 hours from start to finish).  This evening, I made the most critical updates to the site to get it back to where it was on Wednesday before it disappeared.  JACC is back.


One Response

  1. Thanks, Dottie. I think it is also coincidental that this happened right when we are using the web site as a way for members to file their applications for board elections. Perhaps someone’s futile attempt to sabotage the elections?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: